Loading

Privacy Policy

 
 

This document sets out the privacy policy of Canadian Postmasters and Assistants Association (CPAA).

For the purpose of this policy, a reference to “we”, “us”, and “our” is a reference to CPAA, and a reference to a CPAA employee also includes a reference to an officer or board member of CPAA, or any other person acting in an official CPAA capacity, wherever applicable.

It is the responsibility of CPAA and all of its employees to safeguard the personal information obtained from CPAA members.

Personal information is information about an identifiable individual, but does not include the name, title or business address or telephone number of an employee of an organization. Personal information relating to a CPAA member shall not be used or disclosed for purposes other than those for which we have collected it, except if we receive consent from the member.

This policy sets out the 11 principles of fair information practices that CPAA will employ to assist in the care, collecting, using, and disclosing of personal information of CPAA members.


1. Accountability

The National Secretary-Treasurer has ultimate accountability for CPAA’s compliance with the privacy regime. The individual holding that office will hold the title of the Chief Privacy Officer (CPO).

2. Identifying Purposes

CPAA members must be advised as to why we are collecting their personal information and how it will be used, i.e. to represent them as our member, to add them to our membership list, to maintain mailing lists and to provide them with member benefits provided by CPAA. This should all take place when a member joins CPAA and signs a Member’s File.

3. Consent

Members must be advised as to how and when their personal information will be stored, used and disclosed. Record their consent on membership forms, benefit applications, beneficiary designation forms, interview notes, etc.

4. Limit Collection

The amount and type of personal information collected from CPAA members should be limited to the mandate of CPAA and to representing them and providing them services and benefits accordingly. If a member asks, we must explain why the information is needed.

5. Limiting Use, Disclosure, and Retention

It is our responsibility to use or disclose personal information from a CPAA member only for the purpose for which it was collected, unless we obtain consent or as required by law. Personal information should be kept on file only as long as necessary.

6. Accuracy

We must remain committed to maintain accurate, complete and up-to-date personal information in CPAA member files. Information should be updated in our files and systems as required for the purpose for which it was collected. By keeping information accurate, we will minimize the possibility of using incorrect information when making a decision or disclosing information.

7. Safeguards

It is our responsibility to safeguard CPAA member personal information against loss, theft or unauthorized access. Safeguards must be adhered to regardless of the format in which personal information is held.

8. Openness

CPAA members should be advised of the CPAA privacy policy at the time that they join CPAA. CPAA employees that come into contact with members in the normal course of performing their duties, should be able to advise, when asked by a CPAA member, why that member’s personal information is collected, how it will be used, stored, and safeguarded, and who will have access to it.

9. Access

Upon request, CPAA employees must inform a CPAA member of all personal information CPAA has on file with respect to that member. Should the member request access to this information, it must be made available. If the member challenges the accuracy and completeness of the information, it is to be amended if necessary to improve accuracy or completeness.

10. Provide Recourse

Should a complaint be brought to the attention of any CPAA employee regarding the handling of member personal information, it should be immediately forwarded to CPAA’s CPO.

11. Web Site Privacy Notice

CPAA is committed to upholding and defending your privacy rights, whether online or offline. CPAA is subject to federal privacy laws in Canada and respect your privacy rights and honours its obligations to you.

This page summarizes our privacy policy and information practices for this web site. It is intended to provide you with a complete and accurate basis for making informed decisions when choosing to communicate with CPAA via this site.

During a visit to our web site, your privacy is respected. We do not collect personal information about you unless you choose to send us an e-mail, in which you voluntarily provide your name and contact information. The nature of the Internet is such that it passively and automatically collects certain information about a user's traffic patterns, linked to their Internet Protocol (IP) addresses. These are unique Internet "addresses" assigned to all web users by their Internet Service Providers (ISP). IP addresses are automatically logged by web servers. While the IP address does not identify an individual on its face, it may with the cooperation of the ISP be used to locate and identify an individual using the web. The IP address is considered personal information because it is an identifying number, and IP addresses are therefore protected by most privacy legislation. The privacy issues surrounding IP addresses are explained further below.

Visitors' personal information received via e-mail (feedback) is provided only to our CPAA office personnel (or their representatives) who require the information to respond to inquiries. We do not use this information for any other purpose. We protect all personal information in our custody with strong security safeguards, including strict access controls.

As we cannot guarantee the security of electronic systems or e-mail, we do not recommend sending sensitive personal information or complaints electronically at this time. For all such matters, please contact us by postal mail at: Canadian Postmasters and Assistants Association, 281 Queen Mary, Ottawa, Ontario, K1K 1X1, or by calling 1-613-745-2095, Monday to Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Eastern Time.

Our web site is hosted on servers owned and managed by third-party partners, Cyberus and others. Any personal information collected on our behalf by Cyberus, such as server log data (see below), is managed in accordance with this privacy policy, and is protected by applicable law. We also use Google Analytics to provide us with additional web data about our web sites.

Server logs: Our servers automatically log information about visits to our web site in the normal course of establishing and maintaining web connections. Server logs record statistical information, such as visitors' IP addresses, type of operating systems, time and duration of visit, web pages requested, and identify categories of visitors by items such as domains and browser types. These statistics are reported in aggregate form to our information technology, communications and research staff, and are used to improve our web site and ensure that it provides the optimal web experience for visitors.

However, we may review server logs for security purposes, for example, to detect intrusions into our network. The possibility therefore exists that server log data, which contains visitors' IP addresses, could in instances of criminal malfeasance be used to trace and identify individuals. In such instances, raw data logs would be shared with appropriate investigative bodies authorized to investigate such breaches of security.


E-mail: mail@cpaa-acmpa.ca

281 Queen Mary
Ottawa ON K1K 1X1

Tel.: 613-745-2095
Fax: 613-745-5559

Loading

POLITIQUE DE PROTECTION

 
 

Ce document met en lumière la politique de protection des renseignements personnels de l’Association canadienne des maîtres de poste et adjoints (ACMPA).

Aux fins de cette politique, les termes « nous », « nos », « notre » ou « nôtre » font référence à l’ACMPA, alors qu’une référence à un employé de l’ACMPA inclut aussi un officier, un membre du bureau de direction de l’ACMPA ou toute autre personne agissant dans des capacités officielles au nom de l’ACMPA, lorsque c’est le cas.

Il relève de la responsabilité de l’ACMPA et de tous ses employés de protéger l’information personnelle recueillie des membres de l’ACMPA.

L’information personnelle est de l’information concernant une personne que l’on peut identifier, mais n’inclut pas le nom, le titre, l’adresse au travail ou le numéro de téléphone d’un employé d’un organisme. L’information personnelle relative aux membres de l’ACMPA ne doit ni être utilisée, ni être divulguée à des fins autres que les raisons pour lesquelles elle a été recueillie, à moins d’avoir obtenu le consentement du membre.

La politique énonce 11 principes portant sur des pratiques équitables en matière d’information personnelle que l’ACMPA utilisera pour l’aider à veiller sur ces renseignements que ce soit au niveau de l’utilisation, de la cueillette ou de la divulgation de renseignements personnels concernant les membres de l’ACMPA.

1. Responsabilité

Le secrétaire-trésorier national aura la responsabilité ultime de s’assurer que l’ACMPA se conforme à la politique de protection de renseignements personnels . Le ou la titulaire du poste aura aussi à assumer les fonctions de l’officier responsable des renseignements personnels (ORRP).

2. Fins d’identification

Les membres de l’ACMPA doivent être informés des raisons pour lesquelles leurs renseignements personnels sont recueillis, c’est-à-dire pour les représenter à titre de membre, pour les ajouter à nos listes de membres, pour maintenir les listes d’envoi à jour et pour leur fournir les avantages que leur procure l’ACMPA comme membre. Cette explication doit être fournie lorsqu’un membre s’inscrit à l’ACMPA en signant un dossier du membre.

3. Consentement

Les membres doivent savoir quand et comment leurs renseignements personnels seront conservés, utilisés et divulgués. Leur consentement doit être inscrit sur les formulaires de membres, les formulaires de régime divers, les formulaires de désignation du bénéficiaire, les notes d’entrevue, etc.

4. Limite à la cueillette d’information

La quantité et le type de renseignements personnels recueillis des membres de l’ACMPA doivent se limiter au mandat de l’Association, notamment son devoir de représenter les membres et de leur fournir les avantages inhérents à leur statut de membre. Si un membre en fait la demande, nous devons expliquer pourquoi l’information est nécessaire.

5. Utilisation limitée, divulgation, conservation

Il est de notre responsabilité d’utiliser ou de divulguer l’information personnelle d’un membre uniquement dans le but pour lequel les renseignements ont été recueillis, à moins d’obtenir le consentement du membre ou lorsque l’exige la loi. Les renseignements personnels ne doivent être conservés en dossier uniquement que pour la période où ils sont nécessaires.

6. Exactitude

Nous nous engageons à maintenir de l’information personnelle dans les dossiers des membres de l’ACMPA qui soit exacte, complète et à jour. Les renseignements doivent être mis à jour dans nos dossiers et dans nos systèmes selon le but initial de la collecte. En maintenant cette information à jour, nous minimiserons la possibilité d’utiliser de l’information inexacte au moment de prendre une décision ou de divulguer des renseignements.

7. Mesures de sécurité

Nous avons la responsabilité de protéger les renseignements personnels concernant les membres de l’ACMPA contre toute perte, vol ou accès non-autorisé. Les mesures de protection doivent être respectées peu importe le format dans lequel les renseignements personnels sont conservés.

8. Transparence

Les membres de l’ACMPA doivent être informés de la politique de protection des renseignements personnels de l’ACMPA lorsqu’ils joignent les rangs de l’Association. Les employés de l’ACMPA qui sont en contact avec d’autres membres dans le cours normal de leur travail, doivent être en mesure d’expliquer, si un membre de l’ACMPA le leur demande, pourquoi les renseignements personnels sont recueillis, comment ils seront utilisés et conservés, et quels sont les gens qui y auront accès.

9. Accès

Sur demande, les employés de l’ACMPA doivent informer un membre de l’Association qui désire savoir quelle information l’ACMPA a en dossier à son sujet. Si ce membre demande d’accéder à ses renseignements personnels, l’information doit être mise à sa disposition. Si le membre remet en question l’exactitude de l’information ou le manque de renseignements, le dossier doit être modifié si nécessaire pour améliorer son exactitude et le compléter.

10. Recours possible

Si une plainte est portée à l’attention de tout employé en ce qui a trait au traitement des renseignements personnels d’un membre, la plainte devrait immédiatement être acheminée à l’officier responsable des renseignements personnels de l’ACMPA.

11. Politique de confidentialité du site Web

L'ACMPA s’engage à respecter et à défendre vos droits quant à la protection de vos renseignements personnels, que ce soit en ligne ou autrement. L'ACMPA est assujetti aux lois canadiennes en matière de protection des renseignements personnels. Elle respecte votre droit à la vie privée et se conforme aux obligations qu’elle a envers vous.

La présente page résume la politique de confidentialité et les pratiques de l'ACMPA en matière d'information qui s’appliquent à son site Web. Elle a pour but de vous offrir une base complète d'information précise afin que vous soyez en mesure de prendre une décision éclairée lorsque vous choisissez de communiquer avec l'ACMPA au moyen de son site Web.

Lorsque vous visitez notre site Web, la confidentialité de vos renseignements personnels est respectée. Nous ne recueillons aucun renseignement à votre sujet, à moins que vous ne choisissiez de nous envoyer un message électronique dans lequel vous fournissez volontairement votre nom et vos coordonnées pour vous joindre. Le fonctionnement d'Internet fait en sorte qu’il collecte de façon passive et automatique certains renseignements liés à l’adresse de protocole Internet (adresse IP). Il s'agit d’une « adresse » Internet unique à chaque utilisateur du Web et qui lui est assignée par son fournisseur d'accès Internet (FAI). Les adresses IP sont automatiquement enregistrées par les serveurs Web. Bien qu'une adresse IP ne permette par d'identifier physiquement une personne, il peut être possible de localiser et d'identifier les utilisateurs du Web avec l'intervention du FAI. L'adresse IP est considérée comme un renseignement personnel, puisqu'il s'agit d'un numéro identificateur. Par conséquent, les adresses IP sont protégées par la plupart des lois sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Les questions sur la protection des renseignements personnels concernant les adresses IP sont expliquées ci-dessous.

Les renseignements personnels des visiteurs de notre site Web obtenus par courrier électronique sont fournis uniquement au personnel de l'ACMPA (ou à leurs représentants) qui ont besoin de ces renseignements pour répondre aux demandes des visiteurs en question. Nous n'utilisons pas ces renseignements à d'autres fins. Nous assurons la protection de tous les renseignements personnels en notre possession grâce à de solides mécanismes de sécurité, y compris des contrôles d'accès stricts.

Toutefois, étant donné que nous ne pouvons pas garantir la sécurité des systèmes électroniques ou des courriels, nous vous recommandons, pour l'instant, de ne pas envoyer de renseignements personnels de nature délicate ni de plaintes par messagerie électronique. Si vous devez nous faire parvenir de tels renseignements, veuillez le faire par la poste, à « l’Association canadienne des maîtres de poste, 281, rue Queen Mary, Ottawa (Ontario), K1K 1X1 », ou en téléphonant au (613) 745-2095, du lundi au vendredi, entre 8 h et 17 h (HNE).

Notre site Web est hébergé par des serveurs appartenant à une tierce partie appelée Cyberus, et à d’autres tierces parties. Tout renseignement personnel que Cyberus recueille pour nous est traité conformément à la présente politique sur la protection des renseignements personnels et protégé par les lois applicables. Nous utilisons aussi Google Analytics pour obtenir d’autres données Internet au sujet de nos sites Web.

Journaux des serveurs. Dans le cours normal de l'établissement et du maintien des connexions Web, nos serveurs emmagasinent automatiquement des renseignements sur les visites dont notre site Web fait l’objet. Les journaux du serveur enregistrent des renseignements statistiques, tels que les adresses IP des visiteurs, le type de système d'exploitation utilisé, le temps et la durée de la visite et les pages Web consultées, et déterminent les catégories de visiteurs au moyen d’éléments tels que les types de domaines et de navigateurs. Ces statistiques sont transmises sous forme globale aux membres de notre personnel de la technologie de l’information, des communications et des recherches. Elles servent à améliorer notre site Web et à offrir à nos visiteurs une expérience Web optimale.

Il peut cependant arriver que nous examinions les journaux des serveurs pour des besoins de sécurité, par exemple pour détecter des intrusions dans notre réseau. Par conséquent, il est possible que nous utilisions les données des journaux des serveurs, qui comptent les adresses IP des visiteurs, lors de poursuites pour méfait criminel, et ce, afin de retrouver et d'identifier des personnes. Dans des cas de poursuite, les journaux de données brutes seraient mis à la disposition des organismes d'enquête autorisés à enquêter sur de telles infractions à la sécurité.


courriel: mail@cpaa-acmpa.ca

281 Queen Mary
Ottawa ON K1K 1X1

tél.: 613-745-2095
fax: 613-745-5559